Presidential Election 2022: Yashwant Sinha and Draupadi Murmu face-off for top office

By: Shubh Rana
21 Jul 2022 8:48:05 AM Shoolini University, Solan, Himachal Pradesh

Polling for the 16th Presidential Election at Parliament House and State Legislative Assemblies began at 10 AM on Monday. President Ram Nath Kovind’s tenure ends on July 25 under Article 62(1) of the Constitution to fill the vacancy before the expiration of the term. Counting votes will occur on July 21 (Thursday), while the winning candidate will take oath on July 25.


In the 2022 Presidential Election, NDA’s Draupadi Murmu and opposition’s Yashwant Sinha are facing each other. The polling ended by 5 PM. According to the Election Commission of India, the polling was held peacefully across 31 locations.


Out of 4796 electors in the Electoral College list, over 99% cast their votes. "Presidential poll conducted peacefully, cordially everywhere; total turnout at Parliament 99.18 percent," said Chief Returning Officer PC Mody. 68 out of 70 MLAs voted in the Delhi Assembly in the presidential election. Two AAP MLAs, Satyendra Jain, currently in judicial custody, and Haji Yunus, did not vote.


The returning officer said out of 736 electors, including nine MLAs permitted by the Election commission, cast their votes. Meanwhile, six MPs did not cast their votes, and out of 4025 MLAs, two were disqualified. However, 100 percent voting by MLAs was reported from Chattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Puducherry, Sikkim, and Tamil Nadu.


Prime Minister Narendra Modi was the first to vote at the Parliament. After that, Gujarat CM Bhupendra Patel, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin cast votes, along with Congress leaders Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, former Tamil Nadu CM O Panneerselwam, Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, Bengal CM Mamta Bannerjee and other top leaders.


Former Governor of Jharkhand, Draupadi Murumu, is backed by many political parties and has the support of BJD, YSRCP, BSP, AIADMK, TDP, Janata Dal (Secular), Shiromani Akali Dal, both the factions of Shiv Sena and JMM. If elected, Murmu will be the first tribal President of India and the country's second female President.


Meanwhile, Sinha resigned from TMC before being nominated as the Opposition's candidate for the presidential poll. Congress, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Aam Aadmi Party, Samajwadi Party, and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) are supporting Former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha.


The President of India is indirectly elected by the members of the Electoral College, comprising elected members of both houses of Parliament and legislative assemblies of 28 states, as well as the National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry and Jammu and Kashmir. As of 2022, the electoral college comprises 776 MPs and 4,033 MLAs (excluding the 90 MLAs of the currently dissolved and recently delimited Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly) through secret ballot.


Sealed ballot boxes accompanied by the AROs from different locations are being flown to New Delhi; Election Commission shared pictures on Twitter. The counting of the votes is scheduled for later today. 

Post Comments